Reading

I was reorganising my bookshelf on the weekend and realised that I have ended up with an interesting collection of books about Italy, and in particular Venice.  The book  that started it all was Under the Tuscan Sun about 6 years ago and since then the collection has grown.  They’re an ecclectic lot these books – some are of the “I changed my life when I travelled to Italy” variety while others are joyous celebrations of this wonderful country, some are full of  interesting historical facts, like Tim Parkes’ Medici Money and some are novels and short stories ( Robert Dessaix  Night Letters).  The books that I have no time for are the travel books where the author has the audacity to sound bored with the whole process of travelling, or seeing “yet another madonna and child”.

This entry was posted in Books, Italy, Venice. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading

  1. Howard says:

    I can so relate to this. I now have a bunch of books I have no time to read, but the covers alone (mostly of Venice) are so inspiring, I don’t regret spending the money on them at all.

  2. turandotz says:

    Howard, how right you are, even when I’m not reading them I am happy just to look at the covers!

Leave a Reply

